This is the "General Information" page of the "Apps & Mobile Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Apps & Mobile Resources  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2017 URL: http://cna-qatar.libguides.com/content.php?pid=698553 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is an app?

An app is a software application that is designed to run on mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets.

Apps vary depending on the type of mobile device you own. For example there are iPhones, iPads, Androids, and Window app stores that allow you to browse and download applications.

      

    What is a Mobile Website?

    A mobile site refers to websites that are made specifically for viewing and using on a mobile device. They usually permit access to the same content as the original website, though often with a simplified appearance to enable faster downloading and easier viewing from a smaller smartphone screen.

     

     

        

      General Usage

         Brightspace Pulse

      The Brightspace Pulse app is a D2L tool that can help students stay connected, make better decisions about handling workload and to track with their brightspace courses. It gives you one easy view of course calendars, readings, assignments, evaluations, grades, and news.

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Coursera

      Online courses from 115+ of the top universities and educational institutions in the world including Stanford, Yale, Princeton and others. Learn anytime, anywhere, in topics ranging from computer science to cooking and beyond. 

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Evernote

      The modern workspace that syncs between all of your devices. Work everywhere and stay productive. • Write notes, checklists, and research • Organize web articles, docs, and photos • Discuss your work with others, right within the app

      Apple | Android | Windows

          D2L Binder

      Your personalized and interactive document reader that lets you view, annotate and organize your documents from virtually anywhere - it even works offline. (D2L Binder app is not available on iphone)

      Apple | Android

          Goodreads

      Read thousands of book reviews by your friends and other Goodreads members, keep a virtual bookshelf of what you've read, and build your to-read list as you discover great books on the app.

      Apple | Android

         Pocket

      The next time you find an article, video or link you want to read or watch later, just save it to Pocket. It’ll sync across your phone, tablet, and computer so you can come back to it whenever and wherever you’d like, even when you’re offline. 

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Dragon Dictation

      Not everyone has the manual dexterity to use the iPhone keyboard easily. Dragon Dictation simplifies creating text on the iPhone. Open the app, speak into the microphone, and Dragon Dictation converts your words into text, which can then be copied and pasted.

       Apple 

         Advanced English Dictionary and Thesaurus

      Developed by the Cognitive Science Laboratory at Princeton, this app includes over 140,000 words with they antonyms and synonyms.

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Dictionary.com

      A dictionary and thesaurus, based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary. Includes audio of the correct pronunciation. 

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Encyclopedia Britannica

      Access to over 80,000 articles. Basic app is free. 

      Apple 

         My Homework Student Planner

      Helps organize homework; syncs with assignments; links with teachers' announcements, etc.


      Apple | Android | Windows

         1Password

      Password manager for generating secure passwords and storing all you passwords securely. Synchronizes in the background with your computers and other mobile devices. A great way to avoid using the same password on every site

      Apple | Android | Windows

         QR Reader

      Change your smartphone into a powerful QR Code scanner. Open the app, point the camera at the code. By using the phone's camera, you will quickly scan and recognize the information of the barcode.

      Apple | Android | Windows

         Dropbox

      Dropbox is the place for your photos, docs, videos, and other files. Files you keep in Dropbox are safely backed up and you can get to them from all your devices. It’s easy to send large files to anyone, even if they don’t have a Dropbox account.

      Apple | Android | Windows 

         Trello

      • Create boards to organize anything you're working on.
      • Use them solo or invite coworkers, friends and family to collaborate.
      • Customize workflows for different projects
      • Add checklists of "To-Dos" on cards
      • Assign tasks to yourself and coworkers
      • Comment on items with your friends
      • Upload photos and videos
      • Attach files

      Apple | Android

         OneNote

      OneNote is your digital notebook for capturing and organizing everything across your devices. Jot down your ideas, keep track of classroom and meeting notes, clip from the web, or make a to-do list, as well as draw and sketch your ideas.

      Apple | Android | Windows 

         Skills Canada

      This app covers over 40 different trades and technology careers, and summaries of nine essential skills for the workplace. There is a set of comprehensive questions that can be completed, with results and star rating links to careers in trade and technology sectors. 

       Apple Android

          Toodledo

      Toodledo is an incredibly powerful tool to increase your productivity and organize your life. More than just a to-do list, Toodledo provides you with a place to store your notes, outlines and habits. Access your data on any device or browser. We’ll keep everything up to date with automatic syncing. 

      Apple | Android

          Sway

      Sway is a digital interactive storytellling app that can be used for school, work or home that makes quick, easy and create presentations, newsletters, and personal stories that you can share with others. Just add your content, and let Sway do the rest!

      Apple 

      Coggle

      Coggle is the simplest, cleanest mind mapping tool on the web. Coggle gives you a clear way to share and understand complex information. It's a collaborative mind-mapping tool that simplifies comples things.

      Android

       

       

       

          
         

        App Suggestion

        App Suggestion

        Do you know of any good apps that we should include here? If so, fill in this form.
        Name *
        1. ID Number *
        2. I am a:
        Staff Member
        Faculty Member
        Student
        3. Title *
        4. URL Link to the app *
        5. Why would this app be useful? *
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip