This is the "Learning Commons" page of the "Learning Commons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Learning Commons  

Last Updated: Jan 9, 2017 URL: http://cna-qatar.libguides.com/learning_commons Print Guide Email Alerts
Learning Commons Print Page
  Search: 
 

ASK A LIBRARIAN

 

 

About Us

Building 3 is the home of the Learning Commons - a collaborative space providing student-centered support in the areas of Math, Language, Writing, Career Counselling, IT, and Information & Research. Students receive tutoring and assistance in an open-concept, dynamic and welcoming environment promoting group study, collaboration and use of the latest technologies. The Commons is equipped with computer workstations, group study rooms with plasma screens, and laptops for loan. An open IT Lab and specialized learning and research computer stations with scanners and adaptive learning technologies provide students with a supportive workspace. Library services provided in the Learning Commons include a collection of print and journal material to support academic foundation skills, independent learning and recreational reading. With dedicated research stations, the Commons is also the premier site for the College's Virtual Library - the online collection of specialized research databases, e-books and Internet resources.

 

Partners

Advanced Writing Centre (AWC) 

Hours:  Sunday – Thursday, First appointment at 8:30 am; Last appointment at 3:30 pm

The AWC provides individual or small-group mentoring sessions to discuss and assist students with their writing needs. It chiefly focuses on the writing needs of students who are registered in diploma programs. It helps students with the organization and writing of projects, presentations and assignments. Appointments are normally for one half hour. Students are advised to make appointments in advance by going to the AWC webpage  and clicking on the link to The AWC Online Appointment Calendar. The webpage also provides online access to writing resoursces such as grammar and APA tipsheets.

Math Help Centre 

Hours: Sunday – Thursday, 8:30 am – 3:30 pm

No appointment is necessary – some students come in for just one quick question and others stay for an hour or longer.   Please bring your questions, class notes and your calculator.

Career Counselling & Resource Centre (CCRC) 

Hours: Sunday – Thursday, 8:00 am – 3:00 pm

Here students can find out about careers, complete aptitude tests, research degree program options, get help with resumes and interviews and, through the available literature, learn more about career choices, interest inventories, universities, etc.  The CCRC also offers student employment services for part-time, on-campus positions.

English Help Centre

Hours: Sunday – Thursday, by appointment

This multi-purpose area promotes independent learning and provides services for students who would like assistance with classroom English skills and projects, reports, presentations or other difficult subjects.  It focuses mainly on students who have not yet entered specific program courses.

IT Help Desk

Hours: Sunday – Thursday, 7:30 am – 3:00 pm

Students go here for assistance with all their IT concerns from setting up individual accounts, resetting passwords, connecting to the wireless network, to any individual issues. 

Library Services 

Hours: Sunday – Thursday, 7:30 am – 4:30 pm

The library provides information and reference services to students in need of research help, and a collection of recreational reading resources (magazines, newspapers, novels) and books in the areas of career planning, math help, English language skills assistance and student study skills (time management, reading, writing and presentation help).

Digital Media Centre

Hours: Sunday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

The Library Digital Media Centre is a lab at CNAQ Campus with 2 workstations loaded with audio, video and graphic editing software. We are not just your typical computer lab.  We are more of a collaborative workspace where you will find like-minded people who are engaged in exciting, interesting, detailed, creative, and often messy hands-on experimental academic work creating digital multimedia projects in lieu of traditional term papers.

 

Hours

Regular Hours:

  • Sunday – Thursday 7:30 am – 4:30 pm

Extended Hours:

  • Sunday – Thursday 7:30 am – 5:30 pm
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip